On Choices and the 3 P’s

I was never really a fan of the Church. I think that statement says it all. I don’t patronize people/institutions who do not know how to Live (at least in my perception of how living is supposed to be) and more than that I dislike the idea of being told that I am wrong because the Bible said so. Don’t get me wrong, I love the Bible. It’s a piece of literature that actually speaks about the rise and fall of man and what we can learn from it. What I am against is how people use it as an excuse to bully, to make other people feel inferior. More than that, I abhor the fact that they use the Bible to make people feel guilty about something they do not even understand and do it so well!

There was a time in my life when I called myself an Atheist. It’s really ironic because how can one be an Atheist without acknowledging that there is a God. There must be a concept of God first before we can fight the idea that there isn’t. Looking back, maybe I was just mad at what I heard during mass. I felt alienated at my own Church and I’ve always felt that I wasn’t welcome because I am different. People look at you the way they would look at a thief or a murderer and even they deserve to be in the presence of God. Now that I think about it, I didn’t hate God. I hated the people who preached about God because they didn’t know the essence of what God actually wants to tell us.

I’m re-reading Donald Miller’s Blue Like Jazz and I remember him saying that his first image of God the Father was his own father. And that if God was in fact the same as his father, then God would be drinking beer all night only to leave them the next day without saying a word. I guess just like Donald, we all had our fair share of God’s images. Because in truth, who has seen God in flesh?

This is why I have come to this personal belief of mine: God is in all things good.

When I look at my Daddy and think back on everything that he has done not just for our family but for other people as well, I see goodness. I see God. I see a father, a loving father. People always ask me why I believe in goodness and my answer (always my answer) is because I have experienced it. I have experienced acts of kindness and I loved it so much. I felt loved without judgment and it’s the greatest feeling in the world.

Today, I attended Bo Sanchez’s The Feast for the first time. My Kuya invited me because he knows that I have been trying to regain my spirituality. Admittedly, I was scared because I had this image inside my head that people would know that it’s my first time to attend and it would manifest based on how I act and react. When we got there I didn’t really have the time to think so I just ‘jumped’ in and enjoyed the feast.

There are two reasons why I enjoyed the Feast:

1.) The mass’ message was direct to the point.
2.) Bo Sanchez interpreted and dissected the Bible’s content and turned it into practical knowledge. Something you can apply in your everyday life.

What did I learn today then?
Here’s the no bullshit stuff and more:

1.) Choose to be good. Choose joy. Your happiness depends on you. We always have a choice! So make intelligent choices.

2.) Passion + Potential + Purpose = your formula to a successful and happy LIFE🙂

Acknowledge your strength and be the best at it. Be a Superstar. Concentrate on what you are good at and never stop aiming for your goal.

Great Sunday. Next week I am hoping to learn more from the Feast.

Cheers to a deeper sense of spirituality and to believing in goodness.

Happy Sunday kids!🙂

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

