What Lights You Up?

When people ask me if I am happier now, I always tell them this, “Of course. I will be happier tomorrow than today. That means I will be happier everyday.”

The truth is, it took me a long time to actually figure out my formula to happiness. Emphasis on my since I believe we will never arrive at the same answer. Remember that my idea of happiness will never be seen as perfect by anyone I know. We will never be able to completely discover this certain perfection in a lifetime but it’s always worth a try.

I remember talking to my brother about my Uncle A who shifted to a different profession 5 years ago. We talked about his taped interview on TV about his new life. There was nothing special about the whole interview but there was a moment there when he was asked about his passion. For the sake of this blog post, I will call his passion, writing. I saw him trying his best to contain himself, it’s as if a child in him was unleashed. Not too long after that he started talking about writing, like a kid talking about his favorite Transformers toy. He passionately discussed why he was happy now and why he didn’t regret shifting.

A few days later, a famous life coach used him as an example in his career talk. Once, he asked Uncle A, “What lights you up?” This life coach said that when he asked that question, my uncle didn’t stop talking. I guess we all know what he said.

I don’t intend to make this post longer. I just want to give you something to think about tonight before you go to sleep. Ask yourself:

What makes you feel excited?

What would motivate you to get up every morning?

What would you continue doing even if nobody pays you to do it? 

What lights you up?

Whatever it is, when you find it, stop whatever you are doing and just go with it.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

